Arthur Conan Doyle – The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes are overshadowed by the event with which they close – the meeting of the great detective and Moriarty, the Napoleon of Crime. When “The Final Problem” was first published, the struggle between Holmes and his arch nemesis, seemingly to the death, left many readers desolate at the loss of Holmes, but it also led to his immortality as a literary figure. The stories that precede it included two narratives from Holmes himself – on a mutiny at sea and a treasure hunt in a Sussex country house – as well as a meeting with his brilliant brother, Mycroft.

Included in The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes are “Silver Blaze”, “The Yellow Face”, “The Stock-Broker’s Clerk”, “The Gloria Scott”, “The Musgrave Ritual”, “The Reigate Puzzle”, “The Crooked Man”, “The Resident Patient”, “The Greek Interpreter”, “The Naval Treaty”, and “The Final Problem”.

Author: Arthur Conan Doyle
Narrator: Simon Prebble
Duration: 8 hours 27 minutes
Released: 10 Apr 2003
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Language: English

User Review:

oak delicious

I have enjoyed this book very much as I am sure any true Sherlock Holmes fan would. That is if you like the original stories and not just the modern ones. I really liked the narrator’s voice. It sounded just like I thought Dr. Watson’s voice would. I enjoy both but this one is a wonderful jewel. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.