David K. Randall – Black Death at the Golden Gate


A spine-chilling saga of virulent racism, human folly, and the ultimate triumph of scientific progress.

For Chinese immigrant Wong Chut King, surviving in San Francisco meant a life in the shadows. His passing on March 6, 1900, would have been unremarkable if a city health officer hadn’t noticed a swollen black lymph node on his groin – a sign of bubonic plague. Empowered by racist pseudoscience, officials rushed to quarantine Chinatown while doctors examined Wong’s tissue for telltale bacteria. If the devastating disease was not contained, San Francisco would become the American epicenter of an outbreak that had already claimed 10 million lives worldwide.

To local press, railroad barons, and elected officials, such a possibility was inconceivable – or inconvenient. As they mounted a cover-up to obscure the threat, it fell to federal health officer Rupert Blue to save a city that refused to be rescued.

In the tradition of Erik Larson and Steven Johnson, best-selling author David K. Randall spins a spellbinding account of Blue’s race to understand the disease and contain its spread – the only hope of saving San Francisco, and the nation, from a gruesome fate.

Author: David K. Randall
Narrator: Charles Constant
Duration: 7 hours 50 minutes
Released: 19 Jul 2005
Publisher: HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books
Language: English

User Review:

stairway phenomenal

David Randall’s book does an excellent job in giving background on Bubonic plague as an illness that goes back centuries. I’m a registered nurse, so anything dealing with public health is very interesting to me. The book details an outbreak of bubonic plague in turn of the 20th century San Francisco. Doctor’s trying to get to the bottom of this outbreak had to contend with racism against Chinese, concerns about loss of money to businesses in San Francisco and California. One of the best medical related books I have read since the Hot Zone and The great INfluenza.(Both very good books also worth your time)