Emuna Elon – House on Endless Waters


“Readers will find Elons lyrical prose haunting as she moves between past and present, constructing a heartbreaking, moving tale that brings understanding and acceptance.” (Booklist)

“Extraordinary – a vibrant, page-turning family mystery.” (Jennifer Cody Epstein, best-selling author of Wunderland)

“A story of love, loss, and yearning. Lyrically phrased and often powerfully visual…this deeply felt tale offers a rewarding meditation on survival.” (Kirkus Reviews starred review)

In the tradition of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love comes an exquisitely moving novel about a writer who discovers the truth about his mothers wartime years in Amsterdam, unearthing a shocking family secret that becomes the subject of his magnum opus.

At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to promote his books, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Historical Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon footage portraying prewar Dutch Jewry and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with his father, his older sister…and an infant he doesnt recognize.

This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, shining a light on Amsterdams dark wartime history – the underground networks that hid Jewish children away from danger and those who betrayed their own for the sake of survival. The deeper into the past Yoel digs to tell the story of his life, the better he understands his mothers silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime – Who am I? – becomes.

Part family mystery, part wartime drama, House on Endless Waters is an unforgettable meditation on identity, belonging, and the inextricable nature of past and present.

Author: Emuna Elon
Narrator: Jonathan Davis
Duration: 10 hours 9 minutes
Released: 20 Jul 2001
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Language: English

User Review:

earth fast-growing

The story is compelling, but was often difficult to follow. Im not sure if this is due to the narrators approach to the book or if it is simply a book that needs to be read so when it goes back and forth between the main characters life and his writing the reader is clear. I intend to read the book because Im sure I missed something in the listening. Some books need the touch and sight of the words in order to convey their true meaning.