Jacob Peppers – The Forging of Dawn


No armies march. No generals marshal their troops on some distant battlefield. Yet the people of Entarna are at war.

And they are losing.

The nightwalkers have returned, creatures that roam the darkness searching for anyone foolish or unfortunate enough to find themselves without light to protect them. And the people of Entarna carry lanterns and torches, wielding them as shields against the night’s creatures.

But sooner or later all lights fade. All flames go out.

Torrik and his wife were once soldiers in the war against the Dark. But when their son Alesh was born, they left that life behind them in the hopes of keeping him safe. But Alesh is no normal child, and Torrik will be forced to learn a hard truth.

Mortals plan. Mortals hope. And the gods laugh.

Finding themselves in the center of a conspiracy threatening the entire realm, Torrik and his wife must try to become the people they once were, people they’d thought they’d left behind long ago.

For when all lights go out…darkness reigns.

The Forging of Dawn is the prequel book to The Nightfall Wars, a new series by Jacob Peppers, the author of the best-selling epic fantasy series, The Seven Virtues. The Nightfall Wars is a dark fantasy series in the tradition of Joe Abercrombie, Brent Weeks, and David Gemmell.

Author: Jacob Peppers
Narrator: Derek Perkins
Duration: 4 hours 8 minutes
Released: 20 Apr 2002
Publisher: Podium Publishing
Language: English

User Review:

hog elusive

Love Jacob Peppers work and Derek Perkins does an awesome job narrating. This prequel nicely sets up the backstory for what comes in The Son of Morning. Im off to listen book two in the series now!

Keep up the great work Mr. Peppers!