Jake Brennan – Disgraceland

From the creator of the popular rock ‘n’ roll true crime podcast Disgraceland comes an off-kilter, hysterical, at times macabre book of stories from the highly entertaining underbelly of music history.

You may know Jerry Lee Lewis married his 13-year-old cousin, but did you know he shot his bass player in the chest with a shotgun or that a couple of his wives died under extremely mysterious circumstances? Or that Sam Cooke was shot dead in a seedy motel after barging into the manager’s office naked to attack her? Maybe not. Would it change your view of him if you knew that, or would your love for his music triumph?

Real rock stars do truly insane thing and invite truly insane things to happen to them: murder, drug trafficking, rape, cannibalism and the occult. We allow this behavior. We are complicit because a rock star behaving badly is what’s expected. It’s baked into the cake. Deep down, way down, past all of our self-righteous notions of justice and right and wrong, when it comes down to it, we want our rock stars to be bad. We know the music industry is full of demons, ones that drove Elvis Presley, Phil Spector, and Sid Vicious and that consumed the Norwegian black metal scene. We want to believe in the myths because they’re so damn entertaining.

Disgraceland is a collection of the best of these stories about some of the music world’s most beloved stars and their crimes. It will mix all-new, untold stories with expanded stories from the first two seasons of the Disgraceland podcast. Using figures we already recognize, Disgraceland shines a light into the dark corners of their fame, revealing the fine line that separates heroes and villains as well as the danger Americans seek out in their news cycles, tabloids, reality shows, and soap operas. At the center of this collection of stories is the ever-fascinating music industry – a glittery stage populated by gangsters, drug dealers, pimps, and groupies, with violence, scandal, and pure unadulterated rock ‘n’ roll entertainment.

Author: Jake Brennan
Narrator: Jake Brennan
Duration: 6 hours 6 minutes
Released: 19 Jan 2010
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Language: English

User Review:

introspection hooded

First, the narration was terrible. Distracting to have someone read like robot and then put the wrong emphasis on syllables.
Second, I am a fan (from the very first show) of the podcast and even went to the live show when he was on town. This book was too short, the stories were too stripped down. I thought that if we were going to get a whole book, we would be getting more detail than if he just prepared a podcast for each story. Each story would not have made a full podcast.
Third, the choice of stories was really good and I liked how most of them segued into the next. It did make it a little hard to tell where the end of one was and the beginning of another was. Most of the stories didnt really have a climax, so hard to tell when one was over.
Disappointed, but pleased to get a few extra stories.