Jason M. Hough – Gears of War: Ascendance

The official prequel to the action video game Gears 5, beginning immediately after Gears of War 4 and leading directly into the new game.

Following Reyna Diazs death at the hands of the Swarm (in Gears of War 4), Kait seals her mothers tomb and swears revenge. As she, JD, Del, Marcus, Cole, Samantha, and Baird lick their wounds and resupply, First Minister Jinn summons them to New Ephyra, promising that the crimes they committed will be forgiven. Before they can rejoin the Coalition, however, Jinn demands proof of their loyalty, and of the threat of the Swarm. Promised a new command, JD and Del agree. Plagued by nightmares, Kait rebels and refuses. When she discovers that two teens from her devastated village have survived, she goes rogue and strikes out to rescue them, accompanied by Marcus Fenix. Pursued by the robotic DeeBees, Kait and Marcus search for survivors. Instead, they find an overwhelming force of the enemy – and an unexpected ally. Meanwhile JD and Del lead a mission to locate the Swarm, only to be cut off from New Ephyra. Trapped and surrounded, theyre on their own. Picking up where Gears of War 4 left off, Gears of War: Ascendance is the official, action-packed bridge between that game and Gears 5.

Author: Jason M. Hough
Narrator: Nan McNamara
Duration: 10 hours 27 minutes
Released: 19 Feb 2008
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Language: English

User Review:

verity expanding

When I heard Jason Hough was taking the helm for Ascendance I couldn’t have been happier. I LOVED his Dire Earth series, which I recommend to everyone that enjoys apocalyptic science fiction. Gears of War: Ascendance brings the same superb and action packed storytelling. This book is emotional and moves like a burst from a Lancer. Highly recommended!