Lois Lowry – The Giver

The Giver, the 1994 Newbery Medal winner, has become one of the most influential novels of our time. The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community. Lois Lowry has written three companion novels to The Giver, including Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.
Author: Lois Lowry
Narrator: Ron Rifkin
Duration: 4 hours 49 min
Released: 7 Nov 2003
Publisher: Listening Library
Language: English

User Review:

maverick low-cost

Jonas a 12 year old living in (what starts off as) a utopia society. He is shocked when he gets announced that he is the next receiver he learns that he gets to hold all the memories (good, bad, sad, etc.) that his society does not know of. While receiving the memories from The Giver he starts to learn all the horrible truths that has been hidden from everyone. As we read we start to learn more and more about how Jonas society is a dystopia more than a utopia. Jonas is heartbroken due to the fact that he has to hold all these horrible things. He decides to get out of this community but the downside is if he leaves all the memories he has will be going back to everyone in the community and all the truths will be out. I really enjoyed reading this book, I really reading this type of genre. I do wish that we learned more about Jonas and the community after everything. I give this book a 5/5 rating. I recommend that you read this book and all the others books published by this author.