Raymond Khoury – Empire of Lies


“A deftly crafted alternate history in the best science fiction tradition, Empire of Lies showcases author Raymond Khoury’s genuine flair for originality and a simply riveting narrative storytelling style.” (Midwest Book Review)

Empire of Lies is a sweeping thriller in the tradition of The Man in the High Castle, Fatherland, and Underground Airlines from New York Times best-selling author Raymond Khoury.

“The best what-if thriller for a long, long time – makes you think, makes you sweat, and makes you choose, between what is and what might have been.” (Lee Child)

Istanbul, 1683: Mehmed IV, sultan of the Ottoman Empire, is preparing to lay siege to Vienna, capital of the Holy Roman Empire, when a mysterious visitor arrives in his bedroom – naked, covered in strange tattoos – to deliver a dangerous, world-changing message.

Paris, 2017: Ottoman flags have been flying over the great city for 300 years, ever since its fall – along with all of Europe – to the empires all-conquering army. Notre Dame has been renamed the Fatih Mosque. Public spaces are segregated by gender. And Kamal Arslan Agha, a feted officer in the sultans secret police, is starting to question his orders.

Rumors of an impending war with the Christian Republic of America, attacks by violent extremists, and economic collapse have heightened surveillance and arrests across the empire. Tasked with surveying potential threats, Kamal has a heavy caseload – and conscience.

When a mysterious stranger – naked, covered in strange tattoos – appears on the banks of the Seine, Kamal is called in to investigate. But what he discovers is a secret buried in the empires past, a secret the Sultan will do anything to silence.

With the mysterious Z Protectorate one step behind, Kamal, together with Nisreen – a fierce human rights lawyer – is caught up in a race across the empire and time itself – a race that could change their world, or destroy it.

Empire of Lies is being published as The Ottoman Secret in the UK.

Author: Raymond Khoury
Narrator: Raphael Corkhill
Duration: 17 hours 39 minutes
Released: 19 Jan 2010
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Language: English

User Review:

massacre contested

I love the premise and had to listen for that reason. Here is what I liked:
– Well crafted characters
– ending was compelling and fit the book

Here is what I didnt like:
– some of the characters decisions didnt make sense even though their thinking was spelled out for us.
– too much explaining at times caused the story to bog down.
– a little preachy toward the end. Although it could have been worse.

All in all, a book that with the flaws I mentioned, I finished within a couple weeks anyway. Not sure Ill read the assumed sequel, but that could change with time… ( no pun intended)