Ruth Rendell – The Ruth Rendell BBC Radio Drama Collection

Full-cast dramatisations of seven of Ruth Rendell’s tense psychological thrillers.

This collection includes:

The Bridesmaid: a beautiful stone statue and her living double lead Philip into a nightmare of obsession and murder.

Going Wrong: besotted with his childhood sweetheart, Leonora, psychopathic Guy Curran will do anything to make her his.

King Solomons Carpet: Londons Underground links a group of misfit housemates and is the catalyst for a devastating crime in this compelling tale, written under the pseudonym Barbara Vine.

People Dont Do Such Things: a suburban couple befriend a charismatic novelist, but their relationship soon slips into sinister territory.

The Fever Tree: on safari in South Africa, Ford and Tricia find the tensions in their marriage exacerbated by the unforgiving wilderness.

The Dreadful Day of Judgment: clearing up an abandoned cemetery, John, Gilly and Marlons personal demons come to the fore.

Thornapple: poison enthusiast James becomes captivated by the ruthless Meribel on a visit to her wealthy aunt.

Among the casts of these seven suspenseful adaptations are Jamie Glover, Mark Strong, Reece Shearsmith, Paul Rhys, Danny Sapani and Juliet Aubrey.

Author: Ruth Rendell
Narrator: Oona Beeson, Jamie Glover, Peter Wingfield, Rachel Lewis, Laura Pyper, full cast, Paul Rhys, Reece Shearsmith, Michael Maloney
Duration: 6 hours 52 minutes
Released: 19 Jul 2002
Publisher: BBC Digital Audio
Language: English

User Review:

stilt failed

Ruth Randell is one of my favorite writers. However, I dont think I will ever get another dramatized book. I had the hardest time trying to figure out what was happening in most of these stories.